nonprofit leadership award

Each fall, NorCAN honors a local leader with the Nonprofit Leader Achievement Award.

The Award is a recognition and celebration of the successes and contributions of dynamic leaders from the regional sector. Not only does it showcase unique leadership styles and contributions of the individual award recipient, it also highlights the effective organizational systems and community networks which that individual participates in and supports. Further, the award is an opportunity to raise the profile of effective nonprofit leadership and contributions of the nonprofit sector to the community at-large.

NorCAN is very excited to announce that Byrd Lochtie was honored with the 2017 Nonprofit Leader Achievement Award during the luncheon at this year’s conference

Byrd has served as a nonprofit consultant, trainer, coach and mentor since 1984. She has specialized in helping leaders understand and be more effective in their roles, including working together to set organizational vision and strategy to advance their missions. Byrd has been a key partner and trainer for NorCAN - fostering learning, mentoring, relationship building, and excellence in leadership through monthly Board Leadership Roundtables and Introduction to Board Service workshops for many years. 

In her work as a nonprofit leader, Byrd has been involved in a variety of local organizations, including the League of Women Voters of Humboldt County, Children’s Authors Festival, the Humboldt County Human Rights Commission, United Way, Girl Scouts, Eureka City Schools Board of Trustees, and more. She has been a tireless champion in cultivating community democracy. 


2016 Honoree: Libby Maynard of Ink People

Read more about Libby

Honorees Include: Sally Hewitt, Mobile Medical Office; Tina Mackenzie, Six Rivers Planned Parenthood; Allan Katz, Community Health Alliance; Humboldt Association of Realtors; Douglas Morgan, Community Assistance Network; Patrick Cleary, Lost Coast Communications; Sharyne Harper, Humboldt Domestic Violence Services; Jeff Lamoree, Sequoia Park Zoo Foundation; Anne Holcomb, Food for People; Herrmann & Cheyenne Spetzler, Open Door Community Health Centers; Connie Stewart, California Center for Rural Policy; Beth Matsumoto, Housing Humboldt; Libby Maynard, Ink People Center for the Arts


363 Indianola Road, Bayside, CA 95524   (707) 442-2993   Mon-Thurs 8:30am to 5pm   Email Us   Enews Sign Up